CJC > About Us > Our History

Our History

Catholic Junior College was established in 1975 to unite the pre-university courses offered by various Catholic religious orders. The college represents the combined effort of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Singapore, the Singapore Government and local philanthropists, with Dr. Ee Peng Liang serving as the inaugural chairman of the management committee.

Excellence in Living and Learning

For more than 45 years, we have been recognised as an institution founded on our values of truth and love, with an emphasis on holistic education. Both academic excellence and a strong moral and social character remain hallmarks of the CJC student. We are prepared for a changing global landscape, steadfast to the values that remain relevant to this day.

Today, we continue to grow as a vibrant, diverse community. We strive to become thinkers with a mission, leaders with a heart. An alumnus of the college is known to be bold, articulate and always committed towards doing right in the world.


Our Principals

The college has been blessed with the dedicated service of seven principals since 1975:

  • 1975 - 1978: Bro. Patrick Loh
  • 1979 - 1987: Bro. Joseph Kiely, FSC
  • 1988 - 1994: Sr. Deirdre O'Loan, IJ
  • 1995 - 2001: Sr. Maria Lau, IJ
  • 2002 - 2009: Bro. Paul A Rogers, FSC
  • 2010 - 2016: Mrs Christine Anne Kong
  • 2017 - Present: Mrs Phyllis Lim

Affiliated Schools

We are affiliated to the following Catholic secondary schools:

  • Assumption English School
  • Catholic High School
  • CHIJ Secondary (Toa Payoh)
  • CHIJ Katong Convent
  • CHIJ St Joseph's Convent
  • CHIJ St Nicholas Girls' School
  • CHIJ St Theresa's Convent
  • Hai Sing Catholic School
  • Holy Innocents' High School
  • Maris Stella High School
  • Montfort Secondary School
  • St Anthony's Canossian Secondary
  • St Gabriel's Secondary School
  • St Joseph's Institution
  • St Patrick's School