CJC > CJC > News > CJC 40th Annual Awards

CJC 40th Annual Awards

By Melissa Khoo (2T32)

Every year, Catholic Junior College honours and celebrates its best and brightest in the highly-anticipated Annual Awards Ceremony. This prestigious event saw JC1s, JC2s, and the class of 2014, affectionately known as 'JC3s', gather in the Auditorium as one college to recognise the achievements and talents of students both past and present.
As the majestic sounds of the school band played overhead, the teachers and guests made their entrance, and the ceremony began proper, with a short prayer service. Conducted by Father Raj, the college chaplain, and complemented by the beautiful voices of the Music Ministry, the service poignantly reminded everyone that they were "salt for the earth" and "light for the world". Once the short service was over, principal Mrs Christine Kong took to the stage to speak to the assembled students, teachers, and guests.
In her address, Mrs Kong stressed the importance of tenacity and resilience, and of being adventurous and not being afraid to seize opportunities. She also highlighted the fact that a successful life could be measured by the difference one has made in the lives of others - as leaders with a heart, CJCians share the common goal of serving the less advantaged and the greater good.

Mrs Kong's speech was followed by that of Guest of Honour Professor Tseng Seng Kwong Patrick, an alumnus of CJC from the class of 1978, and currently the Chief Dental Officer of the Ministry of Health and the Registrar of the Singapore Dental Council. Professor Tseng was confident that the stellar upbringing of CJCians would enable them all to be leaders with a heart, and emphasised that success was not a destination but a journey. Ending his speech on a call for students to stay focused, steadfast, and persevere, he was met with thunderous applause.
Other than the subject prize winners, the awardees also included recipients of CCA awards, the CJC Flame Scholarship, the CJC Archbishop's Scholarship, the English Language Elective Scholarship, the Friends of CJC Award, and the Spring Singapore Awards to Executive and Administrative Staff. The Principal's Commendation Award went to Tay Jin Howe Caleb, while the Tay Chen Hui Memorial Award and the Narindar K. Dhillon Award, given to the top Science and Arts students respectively, went to Han Songhan and Wee Woon Wayne. Wee Woon Wayne also received the highly prestigious Ee Peng Liang Award, which is given to the student who best exemplifies the college values, with academic excellence and distinguished contributions to both their CCA as well as to the community.
As the ceremony ended with the singing of the college anthem in one resounding voice, there could be no doubt that every CJC student would go on to become thinkers with a mission, and leaders with a heart, serving the world in truth and in love.